Seven selected for Heritage Hall of Fame

The Smithfield Heritage Hall of Fame will hold its 2016 induction ceremony at the Smithfield Senior Center, 1 William J. Hawkins Jr. Trail in Greenville on Thursday, Oct. 27, at 7 p.m. This is Smithfield’s ninth induction to the prestigious Hall of Fame. Smithfield residents are welcome to attend.

The event will feature the induction of seven Smithfield residents who have contributed to the history and heritage of the town through public service, community service, business or recreation.

This year’s inductees are:

F. Monroe Allen, a state senator, town moderator, town committee chairman, town councilor.
David Balcom, a tireless town worker who meticulously maintained the playing fields while volunteering his time for years as a youth coach.
Eugene Lielecki, devoted his life to aviator safety. He supported, protected and managed the Georgiaville Pond and its dam.
John Charkuroff, , a talented wood craftsman and artist, has permeated the homes, churches and business of Smithfield.
Virginia Harnois, has served the Smithfield education community as a schoolboard official longer than any other town official in Rhode Island.
Steven Smith, a popular musical entertainer whose work in music has raised more than a half million dollars for Rhode Island children and their families regarding obesity awareness and for medical equipment to hospitals.
Alonzo Thurber III, an active volunteer to the conservation commission and the restoration of historical cemeteries in Smithfield.

Hall of Fame Committee members are appointed by the Town Council. The committee is comprised of a diverse group of representatives of town employees, community and business organizations as well as town residents.