Principal Kelley elected to top post at national association

The Rhode Island Association of School Principals has announced that Smithfield High School Principal Daniel Kelley has been elected President of the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

“This is a great opportunity for me both personally and professionally. I am looking forward to the challenge,” Kelley said in a press release issued by the organization. “As I shared with the NASSP membership before my election, my commitment is to collaboration, advocacy, and technological innovation. I will work hard to ensure NASSP becomes a recognized thought leader and source for educational best practices throughout the country and across the globe.”

Kelley has served since 2006 as principal of Smithfield High School. He earned a Bachelor of Science in education from Bowling Green State University, a Master of Education from Providence College, and a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies in educational leadership and management from Northeastern University.

He also served as a 6th grade teacher and special services teacher before promotion to the post of Assistant Principal of Cranston High School East in 2003.

An advocate for engagement and technological leadership, Kelley co-chaired the Phoenix site of the nationwide EdCamp Leader in July 2015. His peers elected him in 2013 to a four-year term on the NASSP Board of Directors for Region 1, which encompasses New England. During his term, Kelley chaired the NASSP Finance Committee and met with federal legislators to advocate for key provisions in what is now the Every Student Succeeds Act.

Prior to his service on the NASSP Board, Kelley was named the 2012 Rhode Island High School Principal of the Year by RIASP. He was also recognized by the Rhode Island Interscholastic Athletic Administrator Association as School Administrator of the Year in 2009.

Kelley was elected during the association’s Annual Business Meeting held at the NASSP Conference Ignite ’16 in Orlando, FL, February 25-27. Kelley will assume his post of president-elect on July 1, serving under NASSP President Jayne Ellspermann of Florida. He will then succeed to the NASSP presidency on July 1, 2017.